During episode 277 of Steve Gibson's Security Now! podcast [transcript], he lists several science fiction novels he enjoys reading.  Since I've find it difficult to pick the next book I'm going to read,I decided to list Steve's recommendations here as reference.


STEVE: ...  And I'm constantly getting feedback from listeners, saying, hey, Steve, what's happening in the world of sci-fi? So as it happens, still the very best things that I have found are what we've talked about before. If listeners are not familiar with Peter Hamilton, he's at the top of my list.

LEO: Me, too. And you introduced me to him, and I love him.

STEVE: Oh. "Fallen Dragon." You get an introduction. It's a standalone volume. He's very wordy. But so these books are long.

LEO: But they're all good words.

STEVE: Yes, they are. And he paints such a rich environment that, I mean, I still see all of these worlds that he has created for me. So "Fallen Dragon" is a perfect introduction. Then my second favorite series, it's just a two-volume series, is "Pandora's Star," followed by "Judas Unchained," which is the sequel to "Pandora's Star," which is just - I've read "Fallen Dragon" I think three times. I've read both "Pandora's Star" and "Judas Unchained" twice. Because these are things you can reread, or I can. They're just spectacular pieces of work.

I checked and Peter Hamilton's works listed above are available in Kindle edition.  Links are listed below.

  1. Fallen Dragon by Peter Hamilton
  2. Pandora's Star by Petter Hamilton, book 1 of 2 book series.
  3. Judas Unchained by Peter Hamilton, book 2 of 2 book series.


[STEVE: ]Then my second favorite we've also spoken of before, and that's Michael McCollum's books. He has a website, Scifi-AZ.com, Michael McCollum. He also writes multi-volume series which I very much enjoy. Because, again, if I read one book, it's like, okay, well, that's gone. It's annoying if the series isn't finished, and then you're, like, stuck waiting, which happens to me from time to time. But his Antares Trilogy - "Antares Dawn," "Antares Passage," and "Antares Victory" - is just fantastic. I read them all twice. And I'm just sort of waiting now for it to be long enough for me to reread them.

And then the Gibraltar Trilogy I've mentioned: "Gibraltar Earth," "... Sun," and "... Stars" is fantastic. And in the case of "Stars," I read it before it was published because just to be his proofreader. So that came out. And I reread the prior two in order to get ready for the third one to be done. So that's great. And he also has many individual novels.

I started reading the Antares series in January, and I'm hooked.  I read the Gibraltar series last year and it was also a great read.  Links are below.

  1. Antares Dawn by Michael McCollum, Book 1 of 3
  2. Antares Passage by Michael McCollym, Book 2of 3
  3. Antares Victory by Michael McCollum, Book 3 of 3
  4. Gibraltar Earth by Michael McCollum, Book 1 of 3
  5. Gibraltar Sun by Michael McCollum, Book 2 of 3
  6. Gibraltar Stars by Michael McCollum, Book 3 of 3


STEVE: So I did all of those. Then I said, okay, what next? Then I ran across something called "Helfort's War."

LEO: You like these big long series, don't you. You don't want just one book. You don't want just two books.

STEVE: Well, and here was one where I ran out before the fourth book. This is a series of four. And it's sort of the classic newly minted graduate from Star Fleet, I mean, it's not set in the Star Trek environment, but we do have like the academy. He's graduated from the academy, and we follow his career through four books. And I ran out at the end of the book three, and book four just was published on the 23rd of November. So it's available for Kindle, which is where I'm reading this stuff. And I haven't yet started because I'm just finishing the fourth book in another series of six, which is Gregory Benford's Galactic Center Series.

I haven't read this four book series from Graham Sharp Paul, but the links are listed below.

  1. Helfort's War Book 1: The Battle at the Moons of Hell
  2. Helfort's War Book 2: The Battle of the Hammer Worlds
  3. Helfort's War Book 3: The Battle of Devastation Reef
  4. Helfort's War Book 4: The Battle for Commitment Planet


[STEVE:] And then Gregory Benford actually is a UCI physics professor.

LEO: I like that. I like hard science.

STEVE: This is. His is the so-called Galactic Center Series. I've just finished "Tides of Light," which is the fourth in the series of six. And here we sort of - we've got the humans versus the machines is like sort of the overall scenario there. And I loved, back in the day, Fred Saberhagen's Berserker series.

LEO: I haven't read those, either.

STEVE: Oh, those are really good, Leo. Berserkers being machines left over from some unknown alien race in the past that are out to kill off all biological life. And really interesting sci-fi that's old. It's been around forever. But now we've got the so-called "mechs," the mechs versus the humans. And this is a huge scope, like tens of thousands of years of history, but really interesting new ideas that I've never read before. And also substantial works. So I'm liking those, as well. So "The Lost Fleet," "Helfort's War," and Gregory Benford's Galactic Center series.

The links to Gregory Benford's Glactic Center series is listed below.

  1. In the Oceans of Night  Book 1 of 6
  2. Across the Sea of Suns  Book 2 of 6
  3. Great Sky River Book 3 of 6
  4. Tides of Light  Book 4 of 6
  5. Furious Gulf  Book 5 of 6
  6. Sailing Bright Eternity  Book 6 of 6